Drama…What’s Not to Love? Part II


Firstly, thank you everyone for visiting my blog. The stats are getting higher already and…I hope it’ll keep up. ^_^V To get a little off-topic, my day has been filled with drama today. I had to turn in my 3D art project today at 8am, then take a Japanese translation quiz soon after, then run to Art History to take the first exam in 10 minutes, and then find a printer at school to print out my Graphic Design project. Thankfully, all of that has been completed and here I am relaxing until my next class start. Anyhow, I left out a very important drama that I’m watching right now from my previous post so here’s the addition.

4. 9 Ends 2 Out(s) / (At the) 9th Innings, 2 Outs
This is a relatively new kdrama starring Lee Jung Jin as Bae Tae Ha and Soo Ae as Hong Nan Hee. The supposedly combine baseball and love at 30 together, hence the baseball uniform in all of the promotional poster, but I’m not finding the baseball innuendos very evident. The story is Soo Ae turns 30 and has yet to experience real love. She, however, is dating a baseball player 8 years younger than her. To experience some personal freedom from her parents, whom she’s still rooming with, she decides to move in with her best male friend’s, Bae Tae Ha, apartment. The two have been friend since birth; thus, for 30 years. The question arises from this set-up is will Bae Tae Ha and Hong Nan Hee fall in love with each other with the constant presence of each other instead of the few hours each day? This drama focuses on the issue of friendship and love.  Where does one draw the line between a friend and a lover?  Both people care for you, comfort you, and think about you…but are the thoughts from both…the same?  This question is very interesting to me as some friends of mine eventually find themselves liking each other and that always perplexes me.  Doesn’t it feels like loving your brother/sister?  The drama is this mix of question and a dash of humor.  The actor and actress are very natural toward one another making every scene very believable.  I can’t wait to see the answer to my questions above.

2 Comments

  1. I have watched this drama about 2 days ago and I agree with you that I have found this drama to be very interesting.

    I have always liked Soo Aeh as her acting in “Love Letter” with Jo Hyun Jae is very good. Have you watched “Love Letter”?

    Question that I have always ponder is the following:
    Is it possible for a guy to be good friend with a girl for life? Let me know your thoughts.

    Wish you a very Happy New Year in 2008……by the way, I am from Kuala Lumpur

    Reply

  2. Hello, Mich! Happy New Year to you as well. In regards to your question, from the drama and my personal opinion, I think it’s hard for a boy and girl to simply be “friends” for their entire lives. Sometime during their friendship, one of the two is bound to have feelings for the other. The feelings might not always be mutual but I’m sure there’ll always be feelings.

    Reply

Leave a comment